How to use the Emergency feature on iOS

How Emergency works

When the Emergency set-up process is complete, your Emergency contact will be able to request access to your data and when they do, you will get an e-mail asking if you want to grant or decline access.

Note that your Emergency contact has only read-only access to your data and cannot edit or change anything.

For more information on what exactly Emergency is and how it works, please refer to this article: What is the Emergency feature and how to use it?

How to set up Emergency on iOS

In the Dashlane application, go to the Contacts tab and select the Emergency menu at the top.

To add a new Emergency contact, tap the + icon and choose how you would like to share your data:

everything, which means all your passwords and secure notes,

or certain things only, which allows you to select the items you want to be available to your Emergency contact.

Note that only passwords and notes are available to your Emergency contacts, and it does not include anything you store in the Receipts, Payments, Personal Info or IDs sections in Dashlane. Make sure you keep everything you want to share to your Emergency contact in the Passwords and Secure Notes sections of the application!

If you chose Give access to certain things then Dashlane will offer you to select the items you want to be available to your Emergency contact. You can select Passwords and Notes (Secure Notes). Then tap on Next.

Now set a waiting period: this is how long your Emergency contact will have to wait until the access is automatically granted. This is also the time you have if you want to decline the access request instead. Please note that if you do not refuse the access within that period, it will be automatically granted.

The period can be set at 0 (immediate) to 2 months and the default is 2 days. If your Emergency contact asks for access to your data and you do not reply within this period, they will have access to your data. You can also set it to infinite if you prefer to keep your data locked until you log in to Dashlane and approve the request yourself.

Enter the e-mail address that your contact used to register on Dashlane in the To: field and customize the message that will be sent to them. Note that you need to enter their registration e-mail address for Dashlane and not their contact e-mail address! If you enter an e-mail address that they do no use for Dashlane, you will have to start over with their registered e-mail address.

The invitation is sent and will appear as pending in your Dashlane application until accepted by your contact.

Your contact will receive a message both in-app and by e-mail.

Once a contact has accepted your request, it will show in the list where you will be able to check the details for each contact. From there, you can edit which data will be shared, the waiting period and you can also remove the contact.

How your Emergency contact can request access

After your contact accepts to become your Emergency contact, they will be able, at any time, to ask you for access to your data.

To do so, they will need to go to the Contacts tab of their Dashlane application, go to the Emergency section and tap on the entry in the Added you as Emergency contact area.

From there, they will be able to either decline access to stop being your Emergency contact or request to view data (in which case, a confirmation will need to be done by tapping Send request afterwards).

After they select request to view data, you will receive an e-mail and an in-app pop-up message alerting you that your Emergency contact has requested access to your data. You will be able to grant or decline the request from the pop-up or from the Emergency section.

If you decide to grant access, they will be able to go to the Contacts tab, to the Emergency section, tap on the entry in the Added you as Emergency contact area and select the data they want to view.

Note that these items are read-only and cannot be modified.

Last update:
Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful