How to share your saved items using Dashlane on iOS

Using Dashlane's Secure Sharing feature you can securely share either Passwords or Secure Notes to other Dashlane users.

Why use Sharing?

Sharing data in emails or texts is not secure but using Dashlane's Sharing Center is.

Each time you share a password or any sensitive information by email, the information is copied in plain text in:

  • The 'Sent' folder in your email provider's inbox
  • The 'Sent' folder on all other devices connected to your inbox
  • Your email provider's servers
  • Your recipient’s email provider's servers (which may actually include several different locations and data centers)
  • Your recipient’s computers or devices

Sharing this information through instant messaging apps also is insecure, as the information is usually not encrypted and is sent in plain text on the network. This means your information can be read by the company running the messaging service and conversations are also generally saved in the history by these applications.

However, by using Dashlane's Sharing feature, your data is encrypted using the best encryption system to-date before even being sent over the internet. Please see the Security and Privacy section of this article for more details. For more information on security and encryption, please click here.

How to Share

There are two ways to share your data with another Dashlane user:

From the item you want to share

To share an item with someone, simply locate the item from either the Passwords or Secure Notes sections of your Dashlane app, tap on the three dot icon, and tap on Share securelyAlternatively, you can tap on the item to reveal the full details and tap on Share password at the bottom. 

203314942_1_EN.png

Next, enter the Dashlane email address of the person you are sharing with, pick the permissions, and tap on SendPlease note that you can choose between two permission settings: Limited Rights and Full Rights

- Limited Rights: The recipient can solely use this item.
- Full Rights: The recipient can use, view, edit, and share this item. They can also edit sharing rights and revoke sharing rights of other users who were shared this item, including yours.

 

203314942_2_EN_censored.jpg

 

Once you've shared an item, the recipient will receive an email from Dashlane and receive an alert in the Sharing Center to accept access to this item. 

Using the Sharing Center

You can share Passwords and Secure Notes directly from the Sharing Center. To open the Sharing Center tap on Contacts. From there you can tap on the contacts to whom you have already shared with or shared with you or tap on the + symbol at the top to create a new share.

203314942_4_EN_updated.png


Next, tap on the data you wish to share and tap Next at the top right corner of the window. 

203314942_6_EN.png

 

Finally, enter the Dashlane email address of the person you are sharing with, pick the permissions, and tap on SendPlease note that you can choose between two permission settings: Limited Rights and Full Rights

- Limited Rights: The recipient can solely use this item.
- Full Rights: The recipient can use, view, edit, and share this item. They can also edit sharing rights and revoke sharing rights of other users who were shared this item, including yours.

Do I need to be Premium to share?

No - You don't need to have a Premium subscription in order to use Dashlane's Sharing feature, however, if you're using the free version of Dashlane, you can only share a maximum of 5 items between each user (i.e. if you share 2 items with a user and they share 3 items with you, you both would meet this maximum of 5 items per user). Premium users have unlimited sharing. Read more here: Dashlane Free v. Premium

Security and Privacy

For each Dashlane user, we created:

  • unique public key saved on Dashlane's servers. When records are shared, the recipient's public key is used for encryption (asymmetric).
  • unique private key which is directly saved in your Dashlane account and encrypted in your Dashlane settings. This is known exclusively by you and never shared or transmitted to others. This key works even for free users who don't have the sync feature because your account settings are synced across all devices even if you don't have Premium. This private key is used to decrypt data exclusively. Please note that your private key is different to your Master Password. Your private key is encrypted with your Master Password and stored in the settings of your Dashlane account (along with all of your other saved sensitive data). This private key is synced over to other devices in the same way as your encrypted data is. We never send your Master Password over the internet.

Both keys are generated together and are meant to work together because they only work in one direction. One can never be used to replace the other. Even with access to your public key, one would still need access to the private key in order for decryption to take place. Shared data is encrypted with the recipient's public key, but can't be decrypted with the public key.

Last update:
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful