How to share your passwords using Dashlane on iOS

Using Dashlane's Secure Sharing feature on iOS, you can securely share logins, passwords and notes with other people, whether they are Dashlane users or not (although they will have to install Dashlane for free to get access to the shared data).

Why use Sharing?

Sharing data in emails or texts is not secure.

Each time you send a password or any sensitive information by email, it is copied in plain text in the sent folder on your computer as well as in the sent folder on all other devices connected to your mailbox. It is also copied on your email provider servers and on your recipient’s email provider servers (which may actually include several different locations and data centers) and finally on your recipient’s computers or devices.

Using instant messaging apps is also insecure, as the information is usually not encrypted and is sent in plain text on the network. This means that it can be read by the company running the messaging service, and conversations are also generally saved in the history by these applications.

If you share using Dashlane, then your data is encrypted using the best encryption system around before being sent over the internet. Please see the Security and Privacy section of this article for more details.

For more information on security and encryption, please click here.

How to Share

There are two ways to share your data with someone else.

From the item you want to share

​To share an item with someone, simply open up the item that you want to share from either the Passwords or Secure Notes sections. Note that you can only share data stored in these sections.

Click on the password or secure note to open it up and then click on the Share icon located at the bottom of the window.

Then, choose the type of sharing that you want: limited rights (the person you share with will only be able to view or edit the password) or full rights (the person you share with will also be able to share your data with other users, and manage access just like you). For that, simply tape on Limited rights or full rights in the Permission credential and choose the solution that suits you the best.

 

Finally, enter the email address to which you want to share the credential with. Dashlane will automatically write the email's content for you, but you can change it if you want. Then, tap Send. 

After that, your contact will receive an email informing them that an item was shared with them. They'll be able to accept that invitation from the Sharing Center of their Dashlane app.

Using the Sharing Center

You can share your passwords and notes directly from the Sharing Center which is in your contacts.

The contacts to whom you have already shared will appear there: tap one of them to check the status of your existing shared items, and to manage them. You'll be able to revoke the access to these items, resend the sharing invitation, and so on.

If you want to share a new item, tap the + icon at the top right corner of the window to choose from your list of your passwords and notes.

Tap on the data you wish to share, then tap Next at the top right corner of the window. 

You'll then have to enter the email address of the person you wish to share with, edit the content of the message if you want, and that's it on your end.

After that, your contact will receive an email informing them that an item was shared with them. They'll be able to accept that invitation from the Sharing Center of their Dashlane app.

Once you have shared a password or note with someone, they will appear directly in the Passwords and Secure Notes sections of Dashlane for this person.

Do I need to be Premium to share?

No, you don't have to be Premium to share but if you are a free user, then you can only share a maximum of 5 items with each person. Premium users get unlimited sharing. Read more here: Dashlane Free v. Premium

Security and Privacy

For each Dashlane user, we created:

  • a unique public key (which is used to encrypt data before sending it to other users) saved on Dashlane's servers.
  • a unique private key (known only to you and never shared or transmitted to others) which is directly saved in your Dashlane account and encrypted in your Dashlane settings so this works even for free users who do not have the sync feature because your account settings are synced across all devices, even if you don't have Premium. This private key is used to decrypt data exclusively. Please note that your private key is different to your master password. Your private key is encrypted with your master password and stored in your settings in your Dashlane account (along with all your other sensitive data). This private key is synced over to other devices in the same way as your encrypted data is. Please note that we never send your master password over the internet.

Both keys are generated together and are meant to work together because they only work in one direction. One can never be used to replace the other. You could give your public key to all the impalas on Earth and no one could ever use it to decrypt and read your shared data. This is public-key cryptography magic!

The data that is shared is encrypted with the user’s public key but cannot be decrypted with the public key.

The data can only be decrypted with the private key of the user (which is only known to the user) but the private key cannot be used to encrypt data.

Last update:
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful