Can I revoke the access to a password and what happens when I do so?

If you created the shared item

If created the shared Password or Secure Note, you can easily revoke a recipient's access to that item by simply locating the item in your Passwords or Secure Notes section of your Dashlane app and double-clicking it to open the full details. Next, click the Shared access tab and hover over the recipient's email address to reveal the "XRevoke icon. Click this icon and click Revoke access on the pop up to confirm.

Alternatively, you can go to the Sharing Center section of your Dashlane app and locate the recipient you wish to revoke access for. Next, hover over the item to reveal the "XRevoke icon. Click this icon and click Revoke access on the pop up to confirm.

The shared item will be deleted from the recipient's Dashlane account and they will no longer be able to use, view, or edit the item from this point forward.

If someone shared the item with you and you were granted Full Rights

If a user has shared a shared Password or Secure Note with you and granted you Full Rights, you can revoke any access to this item for everyone it is currently shared with, including the item's original creator. The procedure to follow is described above. The shared item will be deleted from all users' Dashlane accounts it was shared with and they will no longer be able to use, view, or edit the item from this point forward.

If someone shared the item with you and you were granted Limited Rights

If a user has shared a shared Password or Secure Note with you and granted you Limited Rights you won't be able to revoke access to it. You will only be able to use this item - not even view or edit it in Dashlane.

How to see which rights you were granted

In the Sharing Center, you will be presented with a list of users who have shared with you and you have also shared with. To view which rights you have for each item, open the Sharing Center section of your Dashlane app and double-click on a user. The rights shown for each item are the rights for the recipient. To view your rights, hover over the item. If you have the option to Revoke and Edit access, you have Full Rights. If you do not have these options and the text is faded out, you have Limited Rights.

202873592_GIF_EN.gif

 

Last update:
Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful