How to manage shared items within groups

In a Dashlane Business account, once user groups have been created by an account admin, group members and group admins alike can share items within groups in an easy and efficient fashion. Onboarding employees and ensuring they have the necessary passwords has never been easier.

In order to share within groups, you must be a part of a Dashlane Business account, and your Dashlane Business admin must have created groups. Please refer to this article for an introduction to Group Sharing, and a complete tutorial to creating and managing user groups.

How to Share to groups

There are two ways to share your data with a group in Dashlane; either directly from the item you want to share or by using the Sharing Center.

From the item you want to share

To share an item with a group, simply locate the item from either the Passwords or Secure Notes sections of your Dashlane app and double-click on the item to reveal the full details. Next, click on the Share icon at the top. Alternatively, you can simply right-click and select Share.

Enter the group(s) you want to share with, select the permission settings, and click Next. Please note that you can choose between two permission settings: Limited Rights and Full Rights. When sharing with a group, all members of the group will receive the same permission settings that you pick.

Limited Rights: The recipient(s) can solely use this item. They cannot view, edit, share, or edit the permission settings of other users who were shared this item.

Full Rights: The recipient(s) can use, view, edit, and share this item. They can also edit permission settings of other users who were shared this item, including yours, and revoke users completely from using the item.

115003810045_EN-1.gif

After an item is shared with a group, all group members will automatically accept and receive the share. The item will be displayed within the sharer's profile in the Sharing Center and live within the Passwords or Secure Notes sections.

Note: Sometimes, it may takes few minutes to the share item to appear within the group. If you have an issue to see the item you must sync or log back in to your Dashlane account to see the reflected update.

115003810045_EN-2.png

You will notice that any shared items will have a special icon next to it specifying that this item was shared with one or several other users. After opening the item to view the full details, you can click on the Shared access tab to view the sharing details.

202699021_04_Updated_EN.png


Using the Sharing Center

You can share Passwords and Secure Notes directly from the Sharing Center. From there, click on the green Add new button at the top of the window.

Select the items you want to share and the group(s) you want to share with by manually entering them or clicking the down arrow button to the right. Next, pick the permission settings you want to set for the entire group. Please note that you can choose between two permission settings: Limited Rights and Full RightsWhen sharing with a group, all members of the group will receive the same permission settings that you pick.

Limited Rights: The recipient(s) can solely use this item. They cannot view, edit, share, or edit the permission settings of other users who were shared this item.

Full Rights: The recipient(s) can use, view, edit, and share this item. They can also edit permission settings of other users who were shared this item, including yours, and revoke users completely from using the item. 

115003810045_EN-3.gif

After a Password or Secure Note has been shared with you, you can view the item and your sharing details under the Sharing Center or by viewing the Shared access tab of the item in your Passwords or Secure Notes section.
Note: Sometimes, it may takes few minutes to the share item to appear within the group. If you have an issue to see the item you must sync or log back in to your Dashlane account to see the reflected update. 

115003810045_EN-4.png

Managing shared items

You can manage your shared items in the Sharing Center or by viewing the Shared access tab of the item in your Passwords or Secure Notes sections. 

115003810045_EN-5.gif

To view your permissions and the permissions of others, open the Sharing Center, click on the Group you wish to view and locate the item. The permissions you are shown are the permissions that were granted to the group. 

The sharing details will display the permission settings of every group member who was shared this item, including your own. If you have Full Rights over the item you will have the options to edit or revoke access after hovering over the permission settings. Also you will then have the same rights over this data as its creator. This means you will be able to:

  • Edit the Password or Secure Note (by doing so, this will update the item for all group members it has been shared with)
  • See with whom this has been shared (from the Sharing Center)
  • Revoke the permission settings of the group (when revoking access, Dashlane remotely deletes data from other devices at the next launch)
  • Edit the permission settings - Limited Rights or Full Rights

115003810045_EN-6.gif

If an item is shared with you and you delete it from your Dashlane account, the item will not be deleted from its creator's Dashlane account.

Revoking access to shared items

If you shared something with the incorrect group or you change your mind later, you can revoke access from the Sharing Center. Locate the group you shared the item with, click on the shared item, and then click on Revoke access to stop sharing this item with this group. Additionally, you can locate the item within the Passwords or Secure Notes section.

You can only revoke access if you were granted Full Rights over the item. Also if you want to revoke access to only 1 team member, you will have to ask your admin to remove this person from the group and create a new group.

Security and Privacy

For each Dashlane user, we created:

  • A unique public key saved on Dashlane's servers. When records are shared the recipient's public key is used for encryption (asymmetric).
  • A unique private key which is directly saved in your Dashlane account and encrypted in your Dashlane settings. This is known exclusively by you and never shared or transmitted to others. This private key is used to decrypt data exclusively. Please note that your private key is different to your Master Password. Your private key is encrypted with your Master Password and stored in the settings of your Dashlane account (along with all of your other saved sensitive data). This private key is synced over to other devices in the same way as your encrypted data is. We never send your Master Password over the internet.

Both keys are generated together and are meant to work together because they only work in one direction. One can never be used to replace the other. Even with access to your public key, one would still need access to the private key in order for decryption to take place. Shared data is encrypted with the recipient's public key, but can't be decrypted with the public key.

Last update:
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful